Early Childhood Pleasures

I remember a snowman

I remember the magic whiteness of the world all round him.

Inside firelight flickered

As we made toast on a long fork.

I built a house with my big picture books

And called it “Elsa-Gretta”.

I had a painted, wooden parrot

And a wooden, rocking duck

And to help with garden chores –

A little wooden truck.

 

When summer came, the window frames were painted blue

I met Aubretia, Geums, Pansies;

Saw daisy chains and bubbles;

Dressed in net curtains and sparkly ‘diamonds’;

Went to buy tomatoes from the greenhouse where they grew;

Scent of fresh-cut grass promised days of sun and fun.

The paint smell has stayed with me down the years

And the wonderful scent of the greenhouse when three.

October 2016

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

